Chicago Update…

So, this happened this morning…

IMG_8455

Last Monday I posted about how deferring Chicago to 2016 was absolutely not an option. I think that it was already in the way back of my mind though. I tried to keep it back there but by Wednesday it was all I could think about. As much as I tried to convince myself that there was no way that I was going to hit that defer button, deep down in my gut I knew that it was the right decision which unfortunately needed to be made. I went back and forth with myself over the last couple of days but finally came to the conclusion that Chicago is not in the books for me this year.

It comes down to two different factors -> enjoyment and money. There’s no doubt in my mind that I would (barely) finish the race if I chose to still run but I also know that it wouldn’t be the experience that I was so excited for at all. Chicago is supposed to be one of the best marathons in the United States. Boasting a fast, flat course plus one of the largest spectating crowds, I had big dreams for race day! This is where money comes into play. It’s pretty pricey for me to fly to Chicago for 3 days plus the cost of hotels (surprisingly not too bad split between 3 girls though) and spending money. I’m not complaining, this is definitely something I want to spend my money on. However, what I don’t want to spend my money on is a miserable race experience. Yes, I would have lots of fun with my girlfriends exploring the city but let’s not forget the real reason I would be traveling there: to run. Ultimately, I know I won’t enjoy the race and this is most important to me.

Shout out to my wonderful Oiselle Volée ladies who helped me realize that my gut feeling was the right after all. I had posted on our team page about my dilemma and they all agreed that it was smartest to defer. It’a such an amazing race/course that I shouldn’t waste the experience. IMG_7769Plus, with Philly being my goal race just 6 weeks later, it doesn’t make any sense to risk injury running a marathon that I’m clearly under-prepared for. Also, another lady had hit defer the same day for the same reason so that made me feel a little bit better about myself. Thanks to my friends & parents, also, for listening to me go back and forth with myself about what I was going to do. Sometimes I just need to talk out loud to someone to get things off of my brain.

Obviously I’m pretty disappointed in myself. I allowed weeks pass by but wasn’t putting in the training.  I let my friends down who I was supposed to be running with. I wasted $185 on registration that is non-refundable. However, there’s no sense in dwelling because I still have the chance to run it next year. It is what it is.

With that said:
PHILLY, I’M COMING FOR YA!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor says:

    Sorry things worked out this way, but I agree you made the right call. I’m seriously beginning to wonder if this year’s race is cursed, because all the run bloggers I follow who are/were training for this are having major setbacks this summer; you are actually the 2nd person I know to defer Chicago to 2016. It’s been rough summer of running for a lot of people this year. Must be something in the water…

    As someone who had to make a similar decision to drop out of a marathon this fall, I totally get it. Just keep your eyes on the prize and focus on Philly, and use the disappointment you feel about Chitown to do even better in November. You got this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! It seems like a lot of bloggers I follow too are having the same problem. I know that it’s the right decision even if I’m sad about it. Just makes sense. Thanks for your words 🙂

      Like

  2. Amy Lauren says:

    I know that’s gotta be really, really hard but if your heart wasn’t in it then you made the right decision. Life is too short to run a race you don’t want to run especially a marathon in another city. $185 is a lot of money to “waste” but if you went you would be “wasting” a weekend, wasting the hours spent running, wasting all the recovery time (where you could be training for Philly), and also the hotel/plane/etc… not to mention risking injury by doing something you really weren’t ready for. At least you have some more time for Philly and you can prepare.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was absolutely the right decision no matter how upset I am about it. You always have such good insight! Thank you 🙂

      Like

  3. I think you made the right decision, and you hit the nail on the head with your rationale. It IS one of the best races in the country. While it still isn’t my most favorite course, it is one of my favorite experiences. I went with an awesome group, and we enjoyed the city from start to finish. We all ran strong races – not PRs – but races we were excited to celebrate together. You deserve to have that experience. You will run and have a BLAST next year!

    Like

  4. Sam says:

    That is a tough decision to make, but sounds like the better and smarter one. Going into a race knowing that you are risking injury is never a good idea, it puts all your other runs/races/training from that point on in jeopardy and is not worth it. I think the more we run, we not only get better at it but smarter and know that there are always more races to run (and ways to spend that $$) without risking hurting ourselves. I’m excited for next years recap of a healthy and fun race!

    Like

  5. Hannah says:

    I’m not a runner so I can’t really relate but I am so pleased by all the support you are getting Jackie!! Keep kicking ass gf.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment